Ain't It Cool News (
Movie News

ScoreKeeper Invites You To Dance With Death Waltz Records' Latest Lineup of Classic Soundtracks On Vinyl!

Greetings! ScoreKeeper here dusting off the turntable in anticipation of a new wave of reissued soundtracks released exclusively on vinyl. Death Waltz Records is a new company based in London concentrating on delivering high-end collector's packages pressed on vinyl including extensive liner notes from the various composers and brand new commissioned artwork from a variety of cult artists.

Founded by Spencer Hickman, Death Waltz Records has already announced their first five titles and they're spectacular! Each release will feature a limited edition of 300 copies pressed on colored vinyl complete with extensive liner notes, a numbered print and a poster featuring exclusive artwork. There will also be a black vinyl edition with an A2 poster sold through traditional record stores worldwide.

Here's their lineup thus far...


May, 2012


ZOMBI 2 (1979) – aka ZOMBIE FLESH EATERS music composed by Fabio Frizzi

The first time this classic soundtrack to the notorious Lucio Fulci video nasty has ever been made available on vinyl to collectors. The Zombi 2 score is one of the holy grails of Italian cinema, with the maestro Fabio Frizzi delivering a dizzyingly brilliant composition that holds its own against anything composed by the likes of Ennio Morricone or Goblin.

Cover art by legendary UK poster artist Graham Humphreys, responsible for the original cinema posters for THE EVIL DEAD (1981), NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET 1-5 (1984-  1989) and RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD (1985). Exclusive sleeve notes from composer Fabio Frizzi and esteemed Italian horror expert Stephen Thrower.

Red and clear splatter vinyl




ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK (1981) music composed by John Carpenter

Exclusively re-mastered for this vinyl release, including 6 tracks that never made it into the original film. John Carpenter not only directed ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK but also composed and recorded all of its music too. The score sounds as fresh today as it did when it was first released - laden with brooding electronic pulses, flashes of Krautrock and a healthy dose of Nu-disco, all ensuring that this soundtrack sounds as happy on the dance floor as it is in your headphones.

Exclusive cover art by Jay Shaw (aka Iron Jaiden) one of the most in-demand poster artists working today. Jay is heavily influenced by the abstract posters of the Polish film industry and is not afraid to experiment with his designs. His recent work has been selling out in minutes, creating a huge demand on the aftermarket. Sleeve Notes from Alan Howarth.

Black and Orange swirled vinyl.


June, 2012

THE HOUSE OF THE DEVIL (2009) composed by Jeff Grace

Composer Jeff Grace is a long term collaborator with director Ti West (having scored his three major features). His score for THE HOUSE OF THE DEVIL captures the mood of film soundtracks from the 1970s/1980s perfectly, consisting of eerily sparse piano compositions and light orchestral melodies that grow more intense as the film shifts gears from a subtle mood piece into full-on satanic panic. This edition features the original 80s synth-pop inspired opening title music by Mike Armstrong that was missing from the original CD release and is exclusive to our vinyl version.

Exclusive cover art by Tom Hodge (The Dude Designs) the man responsible for the Hobo With A Shotgun poster artwork and lover of classic exploitation posters of the 70s & 80s. Sleeve notes by director Ti West and composer Jeff Grace.

Red and Black swirled vinyl


July, 2012

LET THE RIGHT ONE IN (2008) composed by Johan Söderqvist

First ever release on vinyl for this modern day classic. One of the most beautiful-looking vampire movies ever filmed and featuring a soundtrack loaded with dark, brooding themes that still manage to be achingly melancholic at the same time.

Exclusive cover art by Candice Tripp, an internationally renowned fine artist who has exhibited her work in galleries such as Lazarides (London) & Joshua Liner (New York) and is currently represented by Black Rat Press in London. Sleeve notes by composer Johan Söderqvist.

Red and White splatter vinyl

October, 2012

DONNIE DARKO (2001) composed by Michael Andrews

Released in conjunction with Everloving Records. Remastered by composer Michael Andrews especially for this exclusive vinyl release, the score is pulsing, hypnotic and captures the dark and moody nature of the film perfectly. This edition also features the million-selling single “Mad World” by Gary Jules.

Exclusive cover art by Tom French, a fine artist that works in charcoal and has had his work shown in Philadelphia and London.Exclusive liner notes by composer Michael Andrews.

Black and Blue swirled vinyl


The ZOMBI 2 cover art was just unveiled earlier this week and Ain't It Cool News got the exclusive reveal of the ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK cover art. Future covers will be released as they become available.

To sign up for their newsletter visit the Death Waltz Records web site at You can also follow them on Twitter at @deathwatzrecs.




If you're on Twitter look me up...


Readers Talkback
comments powered by Disqus