Ain't It Cool News (www.aintitcool.com)
Comics

AICN COMICS SHOOT THE MESSENGER: PREVIEWS - HOOD! TRANSFORMERS! DARKNESS! GODLAND! ROBOT 13! & MUCH MORE!

@@@@ Spinner Rack Previews: TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN! IMPALER! GODLAND! GHOST RIDER! ROBOT 13! SPARROW: JOHN WATKISS! NOVA! ASTOUNDING WOLF-MAN! SAINT CARRIE OF THE DIVINE PAGEANT! THE DARKNESS! BACK TO BROOKLYN! THE HOOD! @@@@



What’s SHOOT THE MESSENGER?

Well, AICN COMICS: SHOOT THE MESSENGER is your weekly one stop shop for comic book -EWS. What’s comic book –EWS? Well, it’s our hodge-podge of everything not reviews here at AICN Comics. Sure you can find out the @$$Holes’ critical opinions of your favorite books every Wednesday at AICN Comics. But here, you’ll find special reports such as previews, interviews, special features, and occasionally news gathered here from our online brethren at Newsarama, CBR, Wizard, etc. Sure those guys are the best at reporting news as it breaks. Click on the links for the original stories. This column cuts the crap to run down all the vital information for those of you who don’t follow it as it comes in, and serves it all up with that special ingredient of @$$y goodness.


Hey folks, Ambush Bug here with another bundle of joy that we collected from the Spinner Rack to the Future for this week. Remember, comic book fans, comics come out on Thursday this week due to the Memorial Day holiday. Don’t be that guy who comes in on Wednesday and leaves with nothing but empty hands and a soul full of shame. So let’s dive right into it, shall we?


TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN MOVIE ADAPTATION #2 Writer: Simon Spurrier Art: Jon David-Hunt Publisher: IDW Publishing Release Date: This Thursday!



Sure, the first film was big, loud and obnoxious, but for some reason I feel compelled to see the sequel. And the preview of this book makes it even harder to resist. I guess I’m a sucker for a popcorn brain-number. Check out TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN MOVIE ADAPTATION #2 this Thursday!


IMPALER #3 Writer: William Harms Art: Matt Timson Publisher: Top Cow Release Date: This Thursday!


From the very first issue of the very first series, I was hooked on this graphic horror mixture of 30 DAYS OF NIGHT and 28 DAYS LATER. This new series is just as phenomenal with art that makes you shiver and drool. Check out IMPALER #3 this Thursday!


GODLAND #28 Writer: Joe Casey Art: Tom Scioli Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: This Thursday!


I’ve been meaning to check out this Kirby-esque cosmic epic for ages, but haven’t yet. But these preview pages are making it hard not to pick up this series. Fun old school stuff, this one looks to be. GODLAND (with I knew how to make that cool looking O!) #28 comes out this Thursday!


GHOST RIDER #35 Writer: Jason Aaron Art: Tony Moore Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: This Thursday!


Everyone who is anyone is saying that Jason Aaron is the future of comics. He’s been burning up the pages in SCALPED and getting his mainstream on at Marvel with GHOST RIDER for a while now. Looking for dark and gritty? Check out GHOST RIDER #35 this Thursday!


ROBOT 13 #1 Story: Thomas Hall Art: Daniel Bradford Publisher: Blacklist Studios Release Date: June 6th @ the MOCCA Festival in NYC


Fans of HELLBOY, ATOMIC ROBO, and THE GOON take note, there’s a new quirk-ified hero in town. This looks to be an uber-fun series and the design of the hero and monsters are too cool to miss. Check out the Blacklist website for more info on how to get this damn fine book.


SPARROW: JOHN WATKISS Art & Cover: John Watkiss Editor: Ashley Wood Publisher: IDW Publishing Release Date: This Thursday!


Some art is just meant to be drooled over. John Watkiss makes that type of art. His soulful representations of melancholy women shown in this preview are an art lover’s dream. Love comics for their art? Check out the SPARROW series. JOHN WATKISS’ issue is in stores on Thursday!


NOVA #25 Writer: Dan Abnett & Andy Lanning Art: Kevin Sharpe (pencils), Jeffrey Huet & Nelson Pereira (inks) Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: This Thursday!



Bar none, one of the consistently best comics Marvel puts out. Abnett & Lanning are doing for NOVA what Johns did with GREEN LANTERN. Those of you who aren’t checking this one out should be ashamed of yourselves. NOVA #25 is out Thursday!


ASTOUNDING WOLF-MAN #16 Writer: Robert Kirkman Art: Jason Howard Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: This Thursday!


Haven’t checked out this series since the very first issue, but Kirkman seems to be bringing the game here that he has been consistently doing with THE WALKING DEAD month in month out. It might be worth picking up an issue of ASTOUNDING WOLF-MAN to see if it’s worth it. Issue #16 hits the stands on Thursday!


SAINT CARRIE OF THE DIVINE PAGEANT Free six page story! Story: Brian Andersen Art: Michael Troy Publisher: www.sosuperduper.com Release Date: Right here, right now! Just follow the link!


Not your typical mainstream stuff; I admit and it may not be everyone’s cup o tea. But I’ve found that almost anything showing up on www.sosuperduper.com is worth a chuckle of three. You can read more big gay super hero adventures on www.sosuperduper.com.


THE DARKNESS #77 Writer: Phil Hester Art: Michael Broussard Publisher: Top Cow Release Date: This Thursday!


As usual, I find the art on THE DARKNESS to be fantastic. A lot of eye-candy to enjoy and with Phil Hester in the driver’s seat, the book is in some amazingly capable hands. Check out THE DARKNESS #77 this Wednesday! Just kidding! It’s out this Thursday!
Had you goin’ there, didn’t I?


BACK TO BROOKLYN #5 Writer: Garth Ennis & Jimmy Palmiotti Art: Mihailio Vukelic Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: This Thursday!


This has been an authentically fun reading experience. Palmiotti’s strength as a writer really grounds some of Ennis’ more offbeat and obnoxious tendencies here and the result is the best of both writers presented with some phenomenal art. This is an all around powerful miniseries and I can’t wait to see how BACK TO BROOKLYN ends this Thursday with issue #5.

DARK REIGN: THE HOOD #1 Writer: Jeff Parker Art: Kyle Hotz Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: This Thursday!



One of the best miniseries Marvel has put out in the last fifteen years returns. We’ve got the original artist, Kyle Hotz, back on board. But even though it’d be ideal to see Brian K. Vaughan back writing, Jeff Parker is more than capable of writing a compelling story about this tortured anti-hero. DARK REIGN: THE HOOD #1 is in stores…yep, you guessed it, Thursday!


Editing, compiling, imaging, coding, logos & cat-wrangling by Ambush Bug Proofs, co-edits & common sense provided by Sleazy G


Ad by Prof. Challenger
Readers Talkback
comments powered by Disqus
    + Expand All
  • May 25, 2009, 7:04 a.m. CST

    Dupe

    by V'Shael

    I know we often do that in the talkbacks (cause we don't have any of that modern 20th century stuff, like EDIT buttons) but it's gratifying to see that the AICN staff suffer from the same luddite mentality once in a while.

  • May 25, 2009, 7:34 a.m. CST

    In before lock

    by wadi77

    Lo

  • May 25, 2009, 8:52 a.m. CST

    Ghost Rider and Nova?

    by Star Hump

    Wow, Marvel will hire anyone these days. Really bush league art. Compare that junk to say...Simonson, Buscema (both of 'em), Byrne, oh fuck it

  • May 25, 2009, 8:52 a.m. CST

    bizarro #1: wow that transformers art looks

    by CoolFrood

    good

  • May 25, 2009, 8:54 a.m. CST

    bizarro: this column is the real one

    by CoolFrood

    bizarro happy to have bizarro world on AICN

  • May 25, 2009, 9:30 a.m. CST

    Two columns for the price of one?

    by The_Man_Behind_The_Curtain

  • May 25, 2009, 9:34 a.m. CST

    What the frak?

    by maelstrom_ZERO

    <p>When i stopped reading comic books in the 90's, Nova was just a run-of-the-mill guy with flying powers, who had terrible team-ups with other popular Marvel heroes, and had the similarly terrible fortune of being on the New Mutants.</p> <p>When the heck did Nova suddenly turn into Marvel's version of the Green Lantern Corp? Talk about massive ret-conning.</p>

  • May 25, 2009, 10 a.m. CST

    This column crashes my firefox every time.

    by losder

    This is the first time I've been able to ninja my ass into the talkback to bitch about it.

  • May 25, 2009, 10:05 a.m. CST

    maelstrom_ZERO

    by RaveX

    new warriors

  • May 25, 2009, 11:26 a.m. CST

    Check out Facebook's Comic Books application

    by Ye Not Guilty

    It rounds up all the previews for you. Very cool. You can organize your pull list on it, also. I love it.

  • May 25, 2009, 12:16 p.m. CST

    Transformers

    by Series 7

    Movie adaptation. Is it any good? It looked like it could be fun, which is more then I can say about the film.

  • May 25, 2009, 2:09 p.m. CST

    Star Hump, regarding Ghost Rider....

    by Buckys_Kick_Ass_Arm

  • May 25, 2009, 2:11 p.m. CST

    Give it a chance... Issue #34 was the best comic book issue of t

    by Buckys_Kick_Ass_Arm

  • May 25, 2009, 3:43 p.m. CST

    RaveX

    by maelstrom_ZERO

    Er. . .I stand corrected. You'll have to pardon me; I was reading stuff like Nova's team-up with Spider-Man and the like back when I was 13 or so. . .like 10-12 year ago. It's been a while.

  • May 25, 2009, 7:48 p.m. CST

    You people are aware that the Cannes Festival exists?

    by one_guy_from_andromeda

    The biggest film festival in the world and you guys report on vibrating chairs and video game trailers! What the fuck?

  • May 25, 2009, 8:10 p.m. CST

    Cannes

    by one_guy_from_andromeda

    Well, since Harry et al don't seem to care about movies in the slightest anymore and the only way to do this is in the talkbacks here are at least the jury decisions of Cannes 2009. <p> <p> Best Actor<p> Christoph Waltz, for Inglourious Basterds<p> Best Actress<p> Charlotte Gainsbourg, for Antichrist<p> Director<p> Brillante Mendoza, for Kinatay<p> Scenario<p> Spring Fever (Lou Ye)<p> Camera d'Or<p> Samson and Delilah (Warwick Thornton)<p> Short Film<p> Arena<p> Special Lifetime Achievement Prize<p> Alain Resnais<p> Prix Un Certain Regard<p> Dogtooth (Yorgos Lanthimos)<p> Jury Prize <p> Thirst (Park Chan-Wook) tied with Fish Tank (Andrea Arnold)<p> Grand Prix<p> Un Prophete (Jacques Audiard)<p> The Palme d'Or<p> The White Ribbon (Michael Haneke)<p> Maybe some of you care about this stuff. But probably not. News about state of the art theater chairs and trailers for videogames are much cooler i guess...

  • May 25, 2009, 8:49 p.m. CST

    The Hood

    by kungfuhustler84

    Can someone please just fucking kill these guy already? I haven't cared so little about a comic book character since Gambit.

  • May 25, 2009, 9:50 p.m. CST

    Fu, I agree

    by Continentalop

    But I don't say kill him, just stop thinking that he is the greatest thing since Peter Parker got bit by a radioactive spider. <p> Now Sentry, he has my undying hatred.